The featured image is a sleeping kitty I saw at Atlantis Books (they also had a bookstore dog!)

Some of these I have visited, but the others are just ones I want to see at one point in life.

Europe

Atlantis Books, Santorini, Greece

I have been to this one! It was a beautiful setting with a great stock. It was because of the workers here that I read Annihilation by Jeff. VanderMeer (I didn’t know it was being made into a movie when I bought it, read my review here.)

Armchair Books, Edinburgh, Scotland, UK

I have been to this one! While it’s all used and is a little harder to find stuff, this is one of the most beautiful bookstores I have ever been in. It’s also near Grassmarket, an area in Edinburgh with a great view of the castle and one of my favorite spots in the city.

Livraria Lello & Irmão, Porto, Portugal

218e96f40149345eb324438329f151c4

Have not visited! This looks like a beautiful bookstore though!

Shakespeare & Company, Paris, France

IMG_2366.jpg

I have been to this one! While it had great aesthetics, it was packed. It didn’t have the calm vibe that I find I love in a bookstore.

Dominicanen, Maastricht, Netherlands

c_383_46873f36-6fd9-42eb-96cf-b3a8f8a8b2f4

I have not visited this one! It looks incredibly impressive and is located in an old church.

Cook & Book, Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Belgium

Cook&Book

I haven’t been here. Apparently it’s also a restaurant, which sounds like a great idea. I mean who wouldn’t want to eat surrounded by beautiful books?

Shakespeare and Sons, Berlin, Germany

stilinberlin-shakespeare-and-sons-4-905x603

I haven’t been here. There’s also a cafe attached to this one, which is a feature I love to see in bookstores.

North America

Strand Bookstore, New York City, New York, USA

17STRAND-JUMBO-superJumbo

I haven’t been here. This is apparently a massive and well-known bookstore in New York City that looks awesome.

El Péndulo, Mexico City, Mexico

bookshop-mexico-city

I haven’t been here. I think this picture’s bookshelves speak for themselves about why this is a worthwhile bookstore to visit though.

Asia

Book and Bed, Tokyo, Japan

101453708

I haven’t been here. You can stay overnight at this bookstore too! I would love to visit Japan and stay a night or two here.

Leave a comment if you know of any other bookstores around the world that are great to visit!

Especially any in Australia… 😉

 

Leave a comment