I received an arc of this and if you read my list of 2018 releases I was most excited for, this was on it! It was branching into a genre I didn’t typically seek out, but I was happy to have the chance to read it.

Summary: Lira is the heir to the sea and renowned for ripping out the hearts of human princes. After she has to kill one of her own, her punishment is to be turned into a human. Her one chance to have her siren form restored is to bring her mother the heart of Prince Elian. Except, he’s an experienced siren killer and is on a mission to find a way to rid the world of Lira’s species forever. Lira, in her human form, promises to help him on his mission while she works on her own.

I enjoyed this book a fair amount. I learned it was a stand-alone so I appreciated that it wasn’t this long drawn out book with an excessive amount of drama. Instead, everything in this single book felt well-paced and focused.

I liked the characters a lot, they were complex and ones that you wanted to know more about. Prince Elian’s pirate ship community felt like a real community. You also get to know enough about the past of the siren’s without extensive explanations. Instead, the world-building immerses you in a way that shows you what their life is like rather than attempting to explain and tell the reader it. This can be hard to do when the author wants to make sure the reader understands the world. However, why would characters explain their society when they’re used to it? I thought Christos met this challenge and it made the world all the more realistic.

This also had a great ending. It wasn’t an unrealistic happy ending where the characters realize all they need are each other and forget where they come from. It’s hard to explain what I mean by that without giving things away, but I liked where the story left us.

While this book is high-fantasy, it also contained that realistic element in the characters that I love to see.

I enjoyed my reading of this book. However, I personally didn’t feel the addictive quality as I do in other books and I couldn’t give this a full five star rating. This book might be suited more to other people’s tastes though so don’t take my four stars as a harsh judgement! Even though I don’t have anything negative to say doesn’t mean it suited my reading tastes perfectly.

I see many people loving this book though!

4 out of 5 stars!

Join the Conversation

12 Comments

Leave a comment