This is a collection of short stories by the lovely author Lesley Nneka Arimah. While I read this for class, I genuinely believe this book should be spread far and wide. Arimah visited my class and I’m so glad I got to interact with her.

  • Pages
    • 232 pages
  • Plots
    • Emphasis on trauma, especially family trauma
    • Arimah had amazing pacing, something that can be difficult when attempting to compress a story into 20 pages (plus or minus a few)
  • Characters
    • Unique and touching
    • Focused on female characters and developing time periods
  • Did I cry?
    • No, but I was close to
    • This deals with some serious topics
  • Did I laugh?
    • Maybe a couple chuckles were let out, but it was primarily serious
  • Endings
    • I wanted more from some of them!
    • There were a few that I thought were left too open ended
  • Couldn’t put it down?
    • It was really easy to race through this
    • Each story was relatively short and kept my interest, so I would quickly go on to the second
  • Overall
    • Loved it
    • I want to read more short stories/collections
    • Excited to read the novel she’s working on

5 out of 5 stars!

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment